Working Girl Pt. 14.

For some strange reason last night I couldn’t get to sleep at all, so when I woke up this morning, I felt like a zombie from out of Resident Evil. However, what I needed was my shower and the wash of my face to snap me out of my undead funk, and I was ready to start the day – that was until I got to work. The morning was slow and the two hours from the time I started to my lunch seemed to drag by so slowly I thought I’d never eat again.

I did spend a bit of the morning chatting with Allanah, whilst I waited for things on the shop floor to pick up.

I went to Hyde Park for lunch and had my homemade egg fried rice. I’m telling you, it really is the easiest, simplest, quickest thing to make. The sun was playing a game of hide and seek for a while, so I ignored it and slathered on the sunscreen (better safe than sorry), and relaxed listening to my iPod which I’d put on shuffle. For some strange reason before lunch, I was having these really weird scotch egg cravings, so before I hit up Hyde Park, I made my way to Waitrose in search of some scotch eggs and bought two MASSIVE ones, then treated myself to a yummy carrot cake slice. And for those of you wondering, yes, somebody was on my bench, but it’s okay because at least the grass wasn’t wet and the sun was shining (well kind of…).

When I returned to work after my lunch break, things seemed to have picked up in the store and in the fitting rooms. The racks were piled high with clothes and I spent the next couple of hours clearing out the fitting rooms with Nana; as well as clearing some of the clothes from the rack by the main desk. Just a random aside, I had an awkward run in with Jeff who works on one of the concessions on my floor. All I can really take from this is that: no matter how much I badger on about how much this job has changed me (in a good way), I’m still the same old Alice who can be really weird at times. Basically Jeff asked for my name, I told him, then I asked for his. He was talking to another woman and she was sort of stood smiling, and then I just awkwardly smiled at her not knowing whether or not to ask her name, then awkwardly slinked off. Sometimes I really do wonder about myself.

Sadly, Zoe got moved up to the fourth floor, and things really weren’t the same without her down on the third floor by the fitting rooms. Luckily there were opportunities for both of us to go up (or come down) for a little chat, so it wasn’t as though we didn’t see each other at all. When I went up to chat with Zoe, she told me that she’d read my blog, and the first thing I did was cringe. I don’t know why, but whenever someone I know in real life says that to me, I immediately getting really embarrassed and bashful (I’m not sure why but maybe it’s because I compartmentalise my life a bit, so it’s weird when the different compartments intertwine); but I guess that’s just something I’ll have to get over – and hey, aliceandpercy is a hit (if I don’t say so myself ;)) so I’ve got nothing to be ashamed of. I have to admit that as much as I love fashion and designers and this great job; the fourth floor has nothing on the third, and I mean nothing! While the third is bright and feels warm, the fourth is muted in colour and feels slightly clinical and a bit too perfect. That being said however, I think the fourth floor has nicer fitting rooms, and they did play a Mat Kearney song, so maybe it’s not all bad up there. Anyway, when I had finished my shift, I made my way up to say goodbye to Zoe who was working until 9pm, and we arranged to have lunch together tomorrow. I’m also hoping that Zoe didn’t die of boredom before her shift was up, although that was kind of the vibe I was getting when I was leaving (hang in there Zoe! Ahahahha).

It was so relaxing walking home in the dusk with the moon above my head. The moon reminded of two episodes of Doctor Who when the Doctor and Donna go to the largest library in the universe, and the moon that looks after CAL and the library. There was a point where I couldn’t help but think I was in a dome like thing, kind of like the library, and that the moon was looking out for me.

My guiding moon 🙂

When I got home, there were a bag of grapes in the kitchen so I helped myself to a few handfuls and had two bowls of Crunchy Nut cereal. There really isn’t anything like eating Crunchy Nut in the evening, especially considering that I haven’t eaten it in months, and come to think about it, I haven’t had any milk in just as long either. Grapes are also becoming my favourite fruit, every time we have any at home I just gobble them all up (look out Florence, there’s a new grape thief in town!).

I wanted to break away from the structure of what a lot of my work outfits had been, so I threw on my old H&M top (I used to wear it as a dress) and put a cardigan over the top to make it less party and more work. I love the flower detail and just thought it’d be something different.

Top – H&M

Cropped trousers – Uniqlo

Coat – Uniqlo

Trainers – Asics

Bag – Longchamp

Scarf – Avon

Cardigan – Primark

Sunglasses – TOMS

On my way home I kept thinking that today was Friday, and even now I’m still getting Friday vibes. Hopefully soon I’ll snap out of it. Anyway I’m working again tomorrow, so I think I’ll have any early night. Hope you’ve had good days.

alice

xo

Leave a Reply

