The End of the Road.

Yesterday I wrote that I got a promising phone call. I was asked to come into to attend an assessment for a position of sales advisor in Alice + Olivia in the department which I work in. So today, I went for my assessment, and as you can possibly tell from the title, I was not very successful. I figured I may as well share this with you guys because aliceandpercy isn’t just about the finer things in life, it also deals with the reality that sometimes things don’t always go to plan and that the world is not always a fabulous place. I also figured that there’s not much point in lying to you guys either because aliceandpercy is just as much for me as it is for you, and I’d hate to look back at this in sixty years’ time, not knowing how I honestly felt about this.

I’m honestly quite surprised at how I feel, but then again, I’m not really sure how I thought I’d feel if I didn’t get the position. I’m feeling surprisingly calm and that I’ve had a HUGE weight lifted from my shoulders, as I also found out that my last day is on the 2nd August (finally). This means I’ll be able to enjoy the rest of my summer shopping, writing, having a great time, moving into my first house with my three best friends, and of course BLOGGING. Knowing that I won’t be stuck at home like a wallflower does make me feel slightly positive about the situation, although I won’t lie, I’m feeling a little bit disappointed in today’s outcome. But the truth of the matter is that: this is life.

Bearing all this mind, I’ve had such an experience these past few months, and I mean how many people can really say that their very first REAL job was working in a luxury department store? I’ve also met some interesting characters and people and feel a lot more enriched because of it. Not to mention I met my future husband 😉 who I bumped into a few days ago and found out his name was Gustavo (I’m thinking of nicknaming him Gus for short), and I’ve been introduced to a whole new world of luxury, customer service and new designers. I may be feeling a little bummed at the moment, but I know that in a few days I’ll reread all this and feel quite goddamn lucky.

So I feel rest assured that while this may be the end of the road for me, it’s certainly not the end of the world. I think to top it all off, I was listening to Pegasus Bridge on my way back from the assessment and While We’re Young started playing. I feel like the song was perfect for really encapsulating my whole summer working experience and made me see even more how this experience is one that I won’t get again and that I should be thankful for the opportunity I was given. I’m going to leave you with the song so let me know what you think.

Somewhat ironically, although I’m not too sure it really is, I wore the same outfit that I wore to my original interview back in June. I guess I thought that the old saying “if it ain’t broke don’t fix it” would apply, but I guess not. While it’s a very chic outfit and perfect for interviews, maybe I pressed my luck a little too hard and should have opted for something a little different, but oh wells – that’s life.

Skirt – H&M

Shirt – Uniqlo

Flats – Topshop

Bag – Longchamp

I’m going to spend the evening unwinding, watching a movie and just enjoying my last bits of free time before I’m back to work on Saturday (which I’m sure will be fucking stressful because of the Olympics and because most of my transport won’t be running – check back to see how that all goes down). As my sister’s going out tonight, it’ll be a party of one. Hope you’ve had a great day and have been making the most of the sun (I hear it won’t be like this for very long) and happy Thursday!

alice

xo

Leave a Reply

