Things Bethenny Taught Me: Break the Chain.

I actually wrote a draft for this post a few days ago but then I deleted it because it just didn’t  feel right and I felt that I needed some more time to mull over what I’d read (though I know that I’ll still be mulling).

So anyway, I told you a few posts ago that I had recently purchased Bethenny Frankel’s A Place of Yes, and I’m happy to say that I’ve already read the introduction (I really didn’t think it needed to be eighteen pages, and after a little while it did become quite repetitive), and the first chapter, ‘Break the Chain’.

I hate to sound like the millions of people (particularly women) who admire, respect and just plain adore the woman, but I feel that I can really relate (in more ways than one) to Bethenny and the opening chapter.

The first chapter, aptly titled ‘Break the Chain’, takes the reader through Bethenny’s colourful childhood and while this is by no means a name and shame, I can say that my siblings and I experienced something very relatable (in some ways I think we’re still experiencing it now); and I almost felt like this had been written for me (I know, how narcissistic of me).

The thing that I really took away from the chapter was that no matter where you start; good or bad; you take the good and leave the bad (or in some cases, you take the bad but then use it for good). I also learnt that it’s best not to dwell on the past (something that I already knew, but ALWAYS forget!!), but to acknowledge it then move on.

I felt these were valuable lessons because they make for the perfect foundation to being able to come from a place of yes. Having had time to think over some of what I read, I saw how easily the chapter could be related to things other than a childhood (at least in terms of parents and family), and felt that it could also be in relation friendships, relationships, or maybe even just a small memory of something that happened ten years ago. I also realised that you don’t have to wait until you leave home and/or have children of your own before you can start taking steps to break the chain. You can really begin whenever you’re ready to, no matter the time of your life you’re in.

I felt this was particularly significant, because being nineteen, it’s sometimes hard to relate to these kind of books because they’re usually aimed at older people, and to be honest, I don’t want to be thirty five and an emotional freak because of my childhood when I could have done something about it beforehand. This also brings me on to a last point. Part of the reason for her success (in my opinion anyway) is that Bethenny can relate to any woman regardless of their age, and she manages to make a book like this one accessible to people as young as me.

I’m excited to get onto the next chapter, Find Your Truth, and I’ll keep you posted. Have you already read the book? What are your thoughts? Let me know what you think. Happy Sunday!

 

alice

xo

Leave a Reply

