It’s Friday…

Yes today is finally Friday and while I’m happy it’s almost the end of the week, the realisation that I only have five working days left, is beginning to really settle in. not only do I have this weekend of (my first since I started working way back in June), but my sister is away and I am sat ill in bed. I also realise that in two weeks, I’ll have to wake from my summer slumber of being home and make my way back to Winchester for another year; which makes me think that I should really start buying some things for the new house ASAP. Because I’m ill and feeling lazy I won’t worry about that stuff now, instead I’ll show you some of my favourite things on net-a-porter today. How does that sound?

STELLA MCCARTNEY

While I’m not big on crazy textures, I am big on things that are aesthetically pleasing to the eye.  This uber luxe and fancy clutch looks like a pair of J Brand jeans I’ve seen in the store recently, and while they may not be my thing, they’ve proven popular with customers. I think this is the perfect accessory for a night out or even a little bit of sparkle for a simple lunch date.

Stella McCartney     Stella McCartney 

Styling Suggestion:

Marni     rag & bone JEAN     Carven 

KENZO

One of the many things I love about sweaters is that you can get away with just about any crazy design, print or logo on because let’s face it; it’s a sweater. This Kenzo sweater will look familiar to those of us who grew up with grandmothers or mothers who knit us funky looking sweaters, or maybe to those of you who were born in the seventies (it’s a wild guess). With definite power to make you blind, it’s just enough crazy that it looks normal, and yes, it’s a sweater, so of course I love it!

KENZO     KENZO 

Styling Suggestion:

Mother     Isabel Marant     Chloé 

MOTHER

Since working in the store, I’ve started looking at the basics a little differently, especially jeans. With literally hundreds of brands, finding what works well for you can be a little tricky. While I’ve had my days when I’ve never wanted to touch, let alone look at another pair of jeans for as long as I live, there’s something about Mother jeans that warms my heart and makes me smile. I love the cut, the styling, the material and the tiny logo patch on the back pocket.

Mother     Mother 

Styling Suggestion:

Burberry Prorsum     Marni     Carven 

THE SARTORIALIST

We’ve all be sat in a doctor’s office or at the dentist, and seen the piles of magazines sat messily on the small table, and thumbed our way through them while we’ve waiting for our turn. Just imagine what it’d be like to thumb through one of THESE in a doctor’s office, eh? Long before I started blogging I’d heard of The Sartorialist, Scott Schuman and his spectacular photography, promoting street style across the road, and while I never really tapped into his talent, I’m still excited about these books. Especially now I’m moving into a new home, I can’t help but think about what my future home will be like, and I can definitely see my coffee table being adorned with tomes like these.

The Sartorialist     The Sartorialist 

AUBIN & WILLS

Or as I like to call them; Jack Wills’ chic older sister. I love how Aubin & Wills have taken the Jack Wills aesthetic, but made it more accessible for the older man or woman who doesn’t want to look like a young adolescent, but mature and wiser. This sweater is so cosy and while I saw something similar in orange, I gravitated more towards this grey hue. Perfect for throwing over leggings of jeans or wearing for drinks with friends.

Aubin & Wills     Aubin & Wills 

Styling Suggestion:

Marc by Marc Jacobs     Chloé     Carven 

RAQUEL ALLEGRA

I’ve loved tie dye since I was a little girl, when the prints were psychedelic mismatched kaleidoscopic mind fucks that made you feel were back in the seventies doing LSD. Now I’m loving the toned down effects that aren’t so trippy, but are soft and dreaming. This sweater really couldn’t get any more dreaming than being made with 100% cashmere, and effortless with its open knit nature and side slits.

Raquel Allegra     Raquel Allegra 

Styling Suggestion:

J.Crew     Lanvin     Versus 

 

Check out net-a-porter to see what else is new today and let me know what you think. I also found that finishing at 10pm last night wasn’t as bad as I thought it’d be, even if I do have a cold now. I don’t have much of a plan for the rest of my day, but I think I might watch a movie. I can’t believe the whole day has practically flown by and I’m still in bed. I hope I’m feeling better by Monday, anyway happy Friday!

alice

xo

One thought on “It’s Friday…

  1. Pingback: Isabel Marant Jenny Ankle Boots. « Diamonds and Pebbles

Leave a Reply

