What’s New Wednesday.

As you can probably tell, today is not Wednesday. I didn’t get round to writing this yesterday because I was busy (…watching television, mourning the fact it was my birthday in exactly ONE MONTH and being reverted back to the Stone Age thanks to a power cut), and after spending over an hour on Saint Laurent Paris: The Skinny on the Skinny, I just wasn’t in the right frame of mind to start on another post. But today I’m back with a vengeance (after somewhat of an epiphany), so let’s get started.

CHAN LUU

You’re probably aware by now that I’m not really much of an accessory girl when it comes to my favourite picks on net-a-porter.com. But once in a while I see an accessory that I loved, be it simple of intricate, in this case simple, and I know that I need it in my wish list. Cashmere is one of my favourite materials and silk never did a girl any harm. As for the teal? Bring it, I love it!

Chan Luu     Chan Luu 

Styling Suggestion:

Rick Owens     Yves Saint Laurent 

PROENZA SCHOULER

It’s fair to say that this dress on, looks a hell of a lot more appealing than it does when it’s photographed alone. It’s this same THING that Cut25 and Yigal Azrouël does and I think this makes them more appealing to women who want a garment that’s going to fit right, as opposed to just look right on a hanger. The deep blue is spot on, as is the chiffon and I want to wear something like this out on Saturday night.

Proenza Schouler     Proenza Schouler 

Styling Suggestion:

Christian Louboutin     Stella McCartney 

EQUIPMENT

This looks more like chambray upon first glance, but then I felt a little silly when I realised it was just crushed silk. Jesus, you’d think after spending a summer in the presence of Equipment shirts that I’d know! Anyway, I love this shirt and I love Equipment. I think what I love most about Equipment shirts is their ‘if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it’ mentality. They’ve got such a good thing going with their shirts and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it.

Equipment     Equipment 

Styling Suggestion:

Maje     Alaïa     Stella McCartney 

MAJE

Lace and jersey is not something I would immediately think of, particularly if I was thinking of what to make a dress out of, but I think this combination works perfectly. Net-a-porter styled with flats, but I think I’ll take a ‘go big or go home’ approach and pair with heels.

Maje     Maje 

Styling Suggestion:

Christian Louboutin     Bottega Veneta 

EQUIPMENT

I chose this solely because it made me coo with glee. I think you know you like something when it makes you smile and point at the screen saying: “aww that’s so cute”. In all honesty, this is not something I would expect from Equipment, especially with the sequined detailing, but I love it all the same.

Equipment     Equipment 

Styling Suggestion:

Mother     Christian Louboutin     Yves Saint Laurent 

HALSTON HERITAGE

I love this skirt because although it’s red and immediately screams: SEXY, it has an understated quality about it that keeps it looking chic and easy to wear for both night and day. The colour reminds me of all those cosmetic adverts about the latest lip colour extraordinaire, think Maybelline, and boasts a rich and silky colour. And as always, Halston Heritage keeps it classy.

Halston Heritage     Halston Heritage 

Styling Suggestion:

Tibi     Isabel Marant     Carven 

LANVIN

When I first saw this, I thought this was quite ugly (sorry Lanvin), but then as I scrolled down past it, I realised that this is the kind of thing I would wear. While the lace inserts are a bit of a turn-off, I’m hardly one to judge, but I think the wool and angora blend part of the sweater dress really saved the day.

Lanvin     Lanvin 

Styling Suggestion:

Chloé     Charles Philip Shanghai 

KARL

I hate to say it, but I’m not a big fan of Karl. Yes I’m head over heels in love with Chanel and all the great things Karl Lagerfeld has done, but his latest line, Karl, just did not do it for me. I’m therefore more than impressed that his sweater made the cut today. The perfect shade of grey, the perfect knit, the perfect way it complements the body – I die!

Karl     Karl 

Styling Suggestion:

Mother     Charles Philip Shanghai     Valentino 

Let me know what you think. Remember you can check out net-a-porter.com to see what else is new this week, and don’t forget to look at their weekly magazine. Happy Thursday!

alice

xo

Leave a Reply

