Dinnertime: Stuffed Peppers and Lauran’s Tasty Tats.

Last night I thought I’d try a new recipe, something I’d never made before, in the hopes of expanding my cookery repertoire. Needless to say, I was quite impressed with my efforts, although as usual, there is room for improvement. I apologise in advance (though you’re probably used to it by now) for vague measurements or lack thereof. I’m not the one for measuring things out, but I am working on it.

What you’ll need:

Equipment:

A frying pan

A plastic jug

A spatula

A tablespoon/ stirring tool

Baking tray

Pan

Ingredients:

One large pepper

A dash of oil

Mozzarella cheese

Brown rice (one cup)

Red kidney beans

Mushrooms

Diced potatoes

Peas

Vegetable stock

Chopped onion

Salt

Pepper

Spice

Blue cheese

Garlic cube

Method:

The stuffed peppers:

Preheat the oven to 160-200°c.

Parboil the rice.

Splash a dash of oil into the frying pan and wait for it to heat up.

Drain the red kidney beans if necessary then add to the frying pan.

Add the rice to the mix.

Add the vegetable stock.

Mix all together with the spatula.

Chop up the mushrooms then add to the mixture.

Continue to mix.

Chop the pepper in half, leaving the stem attached and the inside hollow.

When the mixture is heated through and the rice is soft, scoop into the empty peppers.

Place the peppers on the baking tray.

Sprinkle mozzarella cheese on the two halves.

Place the baking tray in the oven and bake for 15-20 minutes.

Remove from oven and serve hot. Although be careful because the peppers will be HOT.

Lauran’s Tats:

Start after you have put the peppers in the oven.

Boil the diced potatoes.

Add peas.

Fry the onions until crispy.

Drain the potatoes and peas then add to the onions.

Add more oil.

Add a dash of salt and pepper.

Add garlic cube.

Mix the pan together.

Add spice.

Continue mixing.

Add a spot of blue cheese.

Continue mixing.

When they everything is hot and heated through, serve. (You may need to wait a few minutes for the peppers to be done, but the potatoes can always be heated up, or served cooler, which makes a nice contrast to the HOT peppers.)

Serving Suggestion:

I had some rice left over, so I ate the rice as a side with the peppers and potatoes. I also sprinkled some more mozzarella cheese on the hot peppers. You can also eat with a homemade salad.

NB.

If you’re not a fan of mushrooms or kidney beans, you can always substitute with mixed vegetables, tomatoes or even add onions.

For precise measurements and more details, check out sainsburys.co.uk where I got the original recipe from, but changed a few bits.

 

Tonight I’ll be treating the girls to my lasagne and I am VERY excited to share it with them. Hopefully it’ll come out well/ they enjoy it as much as my family does at home, but it’ll be interesting to see especially because I’ll be trying out a variation recipe. Stay tuned.

alice

xo

Leave a Reply

