Manchester Whitworth Museum.

At the beginning of last month, Joan and I went up to Manchester to support our older sister who organised an Afrofutures event complete with presentations and workshops from people from around the world. It was only a short trip so we weren’t able to do a lot of things, but we did manage to fit a visit to the Whitworth Museum before we left. Even though it is relatively small when compared to some museums here in London, there was still quite a lot to see.

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

These glass (I think) sculptures looked so cool up close and were the perfect welcome into the museum.

Manchester Whitworth Museum    Manchester Whitworth Museum

I really should have made a note of the artist and what inspired the paintings because it was something really interesting. From what I remember, I think they were inspired by the dissection of objects.

Manchester Whitworth Museum

These next pictures were some of my favourites. I loved the different landscapes and the colours that were used.

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

There was one particular picture that caught my eye long before I even read the description. It was a painting of an archway that I instantly recognised from living in Winchester for three years. I was strangely overjoyed to see this picture that made me think back my uni years.

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

While the ground floor was more contemporary, the first floor was filled with more classical art pieces.

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

as seen on instagram

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

I loved the nod to the Romantic period of the eighteenth and nineteenth century, which I know all too well about considering I took two semesters on the subject back in second year at uni.

Manchester Whitworth Museum

I really want to own this painting. How pretty are the colours? I feel as though I’m flying overhead in a helicopter and looking down at the splendid view. It’s so breathtaking and beautiful.

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum  Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

We then concluded the morning with tea and cake in the museum café.

Manchester Whitworth Museum

Manchester Whitworth Museum

The Whitworth really made me want to visit more museums and galleries in London. So I will definitely try and see more in the future.

alice

xo

Leave a Reply

