Five Favourites Thursday: January 2016.

Wow, the first month of the year is dunzo! Sidebar: who remembers watching Laguna Beach when dunzo was practically Kristen’s catch phrase? Anyway, as the month draws to a close, I’ve found myself being increasingly reflective, so I thought I’d switch things up for this month’s FFT and share five things I’ve learnt this month.

  1. “Isn’t it funny how day by day nothing changes, but when you look back, everything is different…”

Though this is something we’re all aware of on a subconscious level, it takes big events in one’s life to actually realise this fact. On Monday I graduated from my masters, and as I sat in the auditorium watching my fellow graduates go up to receive their awards, I looked back on my struggles during my masters and realised just how far I had come. While last year, being stuck in the rhythm of studying felt never-ending, now being on the other side of it, I see how everything is different.

  1. “The bad news is nothing lasts forever. The good news is nothing lasts forever…”

Following on from my first point, something I’ve always known, but didn’t fully grasp until I was waiting to officially graduate. Nothing lasts forever. I wish I had been more aware of this last year when I was driving myself crazy and feeling like I was being buried alive by stress.

  1. I should probably reread A Place of Yes.

I first read it a few years ago (you can read my thoughts on it here) when I thought I was coming towards the next phase of my life. A few nights ago as I lay staring into the dark, I had a random thought about the book and realised I was coming towards the next phase of my life, and felt it was time to revisit Bethenny’s wise words. Say what you will about Bethenny, but I’ve always felt she was my mentor/spirit animal/ guru, and if there’s one thing she knows a thing or two about: it’s life. What I find most inspiring about her is that she’s been knocked down a thousand times, but she always manages to get back on the horse.

BREAK THE CHAIN QUOTE PLACE OF YES 2

  1. Laughing puts you in a great mood.

I think I’ve laughed every single day of this month and I’ve loved every second of it. When you spend most of your days laughing it’s hard to be in a bad mood. My most used emoji is the laughing face with tears, which also happens to be an accurate representation of what I look like especially after chatting with my crazy friends and sister. As a result of all my laughing, I can feel my abs forming! Result! Hahahahahahahahahahaahahhaa.

  1. “Do what you love.”

While most of my days are spent filling out job application after job application, I’ve still found time to continue doing some of the stuff that I love like writing. Though updates on this blog may border on the sparse side these days, I have been regularly writing and updating my hair and beauty blog, as well as writing a piece for The News Hub about six ways k-drama Oh My Venus changed my life. I’ve always loved writing and I’ve always found the time to write but during these past few weeks, where I haven’t been met with deadlines or such rigourous restrictions, has brought me so much joy; as well as the fact that I’m able to spend my time doing something that I enjoy and doing something that I am passionate about. As cliché as it sounds, do what you love. It’ll bring you some inner peace and a sense of happiness.

It’s fair to say this month has been pretty cathartic for me, and hopefully I’ll be able to keep my momentum going so we’ll see how February goes. Happy Thursday!

alice

xo

Leave a Reply

