Five Favourites Thursday: Country Edition.

I kind of hinted towards it in Sunday’s post, but in the last week and a half I’ve listened to so much good music, it outshined every other interesting thing that happened this month. The music in question you ask? Country. Though I’ve listened to the odd country song over the last year, I haven’t been as submerged in the music as I used to be.

CARRIE UNDERWOOD

Omg! The queen of country. Carrie’s album, Storyteller,  was LITERALLY the soundtrack of my life for a week straight. Unlike some of her other albums, I loved EVERY.SINGLE.SONG on the album and by the time it was over, I was already ready to listen to more. She’s still as sassy and headstrong as she’s always been, and since becoming a mother, there’s also a softness that comes through in her songs. The album was so amazing it’s impossible to pick one song that stands out, but it’s a toss-up between ‘Church Bells’, ‘Choctaw County Affair’, ‘Dirty Laundry’, ‘Girl You Think I Am’, and ‘What I Never Knew I Always Wanted’ – I’ll just pretend that I didn’t just list half of the album hahahaha.

LUKE BRYAN

To me, Luke always knows how to get the party started and I’ve missed his cheeky yet soulful attitude crooning voice. One thing I really love about country, and Luke in particular is that he is always true to himself and that he never forgets his roots and where he came from, which is most evident in ‘Huntin’, Fishin’ and Lovin’ Everyday’. Listening to some of his new music made me go back to his last albums and jam out to some of my old favourites.

DIERKS BENTLEY

After listening to Riser, I didn’t think I could get any more obsessed with another Dierks album… until I listened to Black and was absolutely floored from beginning to end. This album is so beautiful and mellow that it puts me in such a calming mood whenever I listen to it. Dierk’s deep husky voice is UH-MAZ-ING and is able to convey such deep, loving and meaningful sentiments to the listener. Black came out back in January, but it’s definitely one that can be listened to and enjoyed all year long. You can expect to see songs from this album on the blog in the coming weeks.

FLORIDA GEORGIA LINE

These guys were last Sunday’s Soundtrack and as the month draws to a close, I’m getting more and more excited about their new album Dig Your Roots that comes out on August 26. These boys are cheeky and lots of fun, but also know how to be romantic and sweet. It’s this combination that means these guys will always have a place in my heart.

JAIME LYNN SPEARS

Technically I first listened to Jaime back in June, but ‘Sleepover’ was too good to be left off the list of great country I’ve been listening to. I feel like this single was the prequel to Jaime’s first single, ‘How Could I Want More’ and is just as singalong-able as its predecessor. If you haven’t already, you’ve GOT to give the song a listen.

Yep, there really is nothing better than some good ole country, and I’m never going to go a whole year without it ever again. Happy Thursday.

alice

xo

Leave a Reply

